Arts & Literature

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies. 

Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus allows you to search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.

Consumer & Food

AtoZ World Food

Explore food culture and traditional recipes from around the world. It’s a movable feast in a digital cookbook with recipes from 174 countries. Learn to make classic dishes from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

AtoZ World Food

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. The database provides access to product buying advice, blogs, safety alerts, recalls, as well as Consumer Reports' unbiased product and service Ratings and recommendations, selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports, a searchable archive of the past four years of Ratings, Consumer Reports' exclusive product- and car-reliability reports, comprehensive decision guides, the ability to participate in expert Discussions, access to consumer/user reviews, and much more. 

Downloadables

cloudLibrary

cloudLibrary offers eBooks and eAudiobooks to stream or download and is compatible with most ereaders, tablets, and smartphones. Access cloudLibrary by using this link or by downloading the cloudLibrary app. We are part of the Illinois Heartland Consortium. Use your library card number and PIN to sign in.

CloudLibrary Tutorial

Library on the Go

Library on the Go offers eBooks and eAudiobooks to stream or download as well as electronic movies to stream and is compatible with most ereaders, tablets, and smartphones. Access Library on the Go by using this link or downloading the Libby app. We are part of the Rolling Prairie Digital Consortium. Use your library card number and PIN to sign in.

Libby Tutorial

Genealogy & Biography

America's Genealogy Bank

America's Genealogy Bank provides web-based access to millions of genealogical records from 1652 to the present day, including obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements, casualty lists, military and government documents, and other essential primary sources. 

Ancestry Library Edition (TEMPORARILY AVAILABLE FROM HOME)

Ancestry Library Edition delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. 

Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to library cardholders working remotely, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry through April 30, 2020.

Enter your LAST NAME and Chatham Area Public Library BARCODE located on the back of your card to get access. 

FamilySearch.org (Library Affiliate Records - IN LIBRARY USE ONLY)

This FREE site provides access to a growing collection of databases of digitized records for genealogical research. Users are required to create an account, which is free. Using the website in the Library allows access to many digital images that cannot be viewed at home.

FamilySearch.org Tutorial

Newspapers & Magazines

First Search

Our subscription to First Search provides access to approximately fifteen databases, several of which are full-text (including Article First and Wilson Select Plus). Please contact the library for the username and password to access this database from home.

PressReader (Trial)

PressReader provides access to more than 3000 magazines and 4000 newspapers published in the US and around the world. All content is always available without waits or turnaways. Publications from 160 countries in 60 languages are available via the PressReader website and App. Users can search by keyword across all publications and save search profiles.

READ BEFORE LOGGING IN

When using the PressReader.com website,

  1. Click "Sign In" in the upper right corner
  2. Choose "Library or Group" to select the Chatham Area Public LIbrary
  3. Enter your library barcode and PIN number. 

When you download the PressReader app,

  1. Click "Sign In" at the bottom of the screen
  2. Choose "Libraries & Groups" to select the Chatham Area Public Library
  3. Enter your library barcode and PIN number.

State Journal Register

Online full-text version of the State Journal-Register newspaper, with coverage from July 1, 1985 to the present.

State Journal Register (Image Version)

Read the digital SJR, but in the familiar format of the physical paper. We have coverage of this user-friendly format from August 31, 2018 to present.

The New York Times

Access US and world news from home with The New York Times! Create a free account after following one of the links below. Then just sign in anytime you want to read breaking news.

Issues from 1851-1923 and 1980-current are available within the library and at home. Limited access to 1923-1980 issues can be accessed from home with a limit of 5 articles per day from that time range. Access from home will last 72 hours before you need to sign in again.

Reference & Research

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary article database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

To access this database from home, enter your Chatham Area Public Library card number for the Patron ID. 

Biblioboard Common Core Collection

This curation covers a wide range of topics—including Literature, Philosophy, History, Geography and Science—with each collection containing corresponding middle and high school common core guides.

WorldCat Discovery

Locate books, periodicals, computer programs, films, maps, sound recordings, videotapes and other formats in thousands of libraries worldwide. Access to books outside of the Illinois Heartland Library System is also available.

Streaming

Audio Book Cloud

AudioBookCloud is an online database of 1400 audiobooks for schools and libraries. With titles ranging from classic literature, to science fiction, to contemporary blockbusters, and everything in between, we’re sure that AudioBookCloud has the perfect title for all your listening needs!

Kanopy

Kanopy has films that can be streamed to most computers, tablets, smartphones, and televisions by downloading the Kanopy app. Use your library card number and PIN to sign up and then create an account with a username and password of your choice.

Kanopy

Romance Book Cloud

Love is in the air. Actually, it is in the cloud. RomanceBookCloud where love and romance is available 24/7 for your patrons.

Unlimited and unrestricted access to ebooks and audio books which have made romance the biggest selling and most popular brand in fiction. 

Whether it be contemporary, historical, time-travel, inspirational, YA, or paranormal, your patrons will love to read about love at RomanceBookCloud.

All Romance. All the Time

Teen Book Cloud

The growing collection features over 1000 titles, including student-favorite Graphic Novels, enhanced e-books with full audio narration and highlighted text, classic literature, national geographic videos, and more!

Ebooks for 7th thru 12th grades.

 

TumbleBookLibrary

TumbleBookLibrary has over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes our unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. Plus, the collection features Graphic Novels – a student favorite!

Tumble Math

TumbleMath is the most comprehensive collection of math picture books you will find anywhere. All in the amazing TumbleBook format complete with animation and narration.

The books are accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans and quizzes.  

Ebooks available for grades Kindergarten thru 6th.